Everyone that uses Facebook has at least once posted a video to their timeline. Many people continue to post videos, either because they like sharing them or they simply forget that the option is there.
There are two reasons why you might want delete your videos on Facebook: 1) you don’t want them appearing in your timeline; 2) you would rather delete the original copy from your computer and leave copies only on Facebook’s servers (so that if someone shares a link to your video then it will still work). This guide will show you how to delete a single video as well as delete a whole playlist of videos.
Delete Videos You Uploaded
The general rule is that you can only delete videos that you yourself uploaded on Facebook. Other videos that you may want to put down or remove on Facebook may not be removed on your end but they may get reported.
In order to remove a video from your Facebook account, you should do the following things:
- Go to your Facebook profile. Your profile’s main tab should have a section on Videos. If it is not on the main tab, you will find it on the More option. A dropdown menu should come out showing the choices that you have, choose Videos.
- Once you are there, you will be prompted to a list of the videos you have uploaded.
- Click on the video that you would like to delete and click on the Edit Button.
The Edit Button is the option on Facebook where you can edit the video, its details, and its deletion as well.
There are a different variety of options before you can delete the video. If you have already decided that you will delete the video, you can do so by clicking on delete.
Delete Videos Someone Else Uploaded On Your Facebook
In order to delete videos that someone else uploaded on your Facebook, the original uploader has to delete the video himself.
You cannot, on your own, delete a video that someone else uploaded on their Facebook account.
There are a couple of things that you can do in order to delete videos that someone else uploaded on your Facebook.
Report the Video
Firstly, go onto Facebook and open the Facebook video in question (if you can’t find it, go back and make sure you are looking on the Facebook homepage).
Click “More” then “Report”, and Facebook will open a drop-down menu.
Select the reason why you are reporting the video. For example, “It’s abusive or contains nudity” to get Facebook to review the Facebook video and remove it from Facebook permanently.
There are different reasons for reporting a video, whether it is because of the violent content or for any other reason, choose one that applies the best to the video that you are reporting.
Facebook might also ask why you want this Facebook video removed (for example, if Facebook gets multiple reports about the same Facebook video). If you select “Something else” Facebook will ask you to type in why you want Facebook to review the Facebook video and remove it from Facebook.
Delete Videos On Your Timeline
To delete a video from your timeline there are a number of steps that you must also follow in order to protect the integrity of your feed and your timeline. The first thing that you must do is to identify the videos on your timeline that you want to remove.
1. Locate the post you want to delete in your timeline, and click on it to open it.
2. Click on the 3 dots at the top right corner of the post and choose ‘Delete Post’
3. You will be prompted with a box confirming if you want to delete this post permanently or delete this post only from your timeline but keep it visible on Facebook.
4. If you choose to delete this post only from your timeline, you will see an additional prompt asking for confirmation.
5. Once you delete a post from your timeline, you can no longer restore it.
Note to Remember: If you want to delete only some videos within a playlist, then it’s better to delete each video one by one instead of deleting everything all together – so delete one video, check it worked and delete another one, etc.
It may take up to 14 days for Facebook’s servers to “finish” deleting your videos, so make sure this is what you really want to delete them before actually following through with the delete process.
That’s it! Hope you delete the right video and delete them quickly before someone shares a link to your deleted video on Facebook again . Have more questions about delete videos on Facebook ? Write in the comments section below or send us an email via contact form.