Cheetos are easily the most famous fast foods, only second to potato chips. Since we live in a world where everything is moving, people, especially adults, find it hard to make time and cook whole meals. The latter explains why many opt to get fast food. Unfortunately, fast foods come with their fair share of challenges, most of them health-wise.
All health matters aside, there are some religions such as Islam that are very keen on the kinds of foods they eat and those that they don’t. The latter is what brings us to the question of the day; are Cheetos halal or haram? Keep reading to find out the consensus.
What are the basic ingredients in Cheetos?
Before we concluded whether Cheetos are halal or haram, we must start with the ingredients. Some of the main Cheetos ingredients include vegetable oil and cornmeal. The vegetable oil in this instance can be either of the following: corn, sunflower oil, or canola. The cornmeal, on the other hand, contains Folic Acid, Riboflavin, Thiamin Mononitrate, Niacin, and Ferrous Sulfate.
Other minor ingredients include artificial flavors, natural flavors, corn-derived maltodextrin, and cheese seasoning. The cheese seasoning in question contains whey, milk, salt, cheddar cheese, and an assortment of cheese cultures.
Is Flamin’ Hot Cheetos Halal?
While everyone who ever hands Flaming Hot Cheetos will swear on just how addictive its finger-licking taste is, the Muslim community has a completely different idea when it comes to fast food. While most of the ingredients in Flaming Hot Cheetos are derived from edible plants and are therefore halal, some of the ingredients aren’t.
In this case, enzymes that are derived from a pig can be found in Flaming Hot Cheetos and therefore makes the snack haram. That said, if you’re a Muslim looking for a brand of Cheetos you can consume without going against the teachings of the Holy Quran, then I’d strongly suggest that you stay away from Flaming Hot Cheetos.
Are Cheetos Puffs Halal?
Another incredibly popular brand of Cheetos is none other than Cheetos puffs. Once again, the only way to know whether this popular North American brand is halal or haram, we have to check out the ingredients.
The ingredients in question include salt, artificial color (Yellow 6), Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Monosodium Glutamate, Whey Protein Concentrate, Both Natural and Artificial Flavors, Milk Cheese Cultures and Enzymes, Corn Derived Maltodextrin, Canola Oil, Cheese Seasoning, and Enriched Corn Meal.
It’s safe to conclude that Cheetos puffs are halal considering that the enzymes found in them are derived from milk and not pig-like it’s the case with other Cheetos brands.
Is Jalapeno Cheetos Halal?
Any Muslims who love their food spicy can always count on jalapeno Cheetos since they’re made specifically for them. They’re also halal considering that jalapeno Cheetos do not have any enzymes derived from pigs. https://www.eyesolutions.in/rise-of-tramadol-from-india/”>www.eyesolutions.in) As far as the ingredients go, jalapeno Cheetos have the basic constituents.
These include citric acid, monosodium glutamate, natural and artificial flavors, lactic acid, whey protein concentrate, salt, artificial color, and milk-derived enzymes, etc.
Even though the name ‘jalapeno’ is Mexican, Muslims in the United States of America can always enjoy their halal Cheetos without having to import them as they’re made in the Frito-Lay in the USA. In case you want your jalapeno Cheetos and you are not in the USA, you can always have yours imported, affordably of course.
Is Crunchy Flaming’ Hot Cheetos Halal?
There’s a not-so-popular dictum among lovers of Cheetos like myself that says, ‘once you got Cheetos you can never go back.’ That said, it’s important for you to always go for Cheetos that tickle your fancy. So, if you are Muslim and Crunchy Flamin’ Hot Cheetos happen to be your weakness, then you’re in luck because the brand is perfectly halal. I say that because it doesn’t have any ingredients derived from pigs/pork.
Is Cheetos Crunchy Fromage Halal?
Cheetos crunchy Fromage is a popular flavor of the Cheetos that’s manufactured in France. The ingredients include citric acid, artificial coloring, Fromage cheddar, folic acid, cultures, just to mention a few.
Going by the ingredients, it’s safe to say that Cheetos Crunchy Fromage is halal has it doesn’t have any enzymes derived from pigs as far as the ingredients are concerned. But still, some Muslims consider it to be haram just because of other Cheetos brands whose contents are haram.
Can Muslims still eat Cheetos?
The debate on what foods are halal and what foods are haram is one that’s been on for a very long time. Unfortunately, it isn’t going anywhere any time soon. That said, it’s important to acknowledge the fact that there are different kinds of Muslims. Some are devoted and those who aren’t that much devoted.
What I’m trying to say is, there’re so many Muslims who eat Cheetos despite knowing the ingredients. Does that make them bad Muslims? Not. In the end, everyone’s personal choices have to be respected.